Tool Pouch For KTM – Mar 2015

Updated July 2016 – tool pouch failure!

I like to be prepared when I ride.  Therefore I tend to carry a lot of tools and a fairly substantial first-aid kit.  The problem is, this adds a lot of bulk and weight.  I have struggled over the years to find the ideal way to carry everything.  I decided to try a tool pouch mounted on the inside of my rear side plastic.

Tool pouch

For many years I have used a Wolfman Enduro rear fender bag.  It is well made, easy to remove, and cinches down to keep my tools from bouncing too much.  But I tend to overfill it, making it difficult to kick my leg over the rear fender.

Wolfman Enduro fender bag

Several months ago I decided to try the Wolfman Daytripper saddle bags.  At first I thought they worked great – I had plenty of room for my tools on one side, my first-aid kit on the other, and still had room to stuff in my rain coat or lunch.  It was nice getting much of that weight out of my Ogio Flight Vest, but having that much weight on the bike affected handling.  But more important, I found that there was a safety issue.  One time I snagged my toe under a tree root.  Rather than simply slide off the back of the bike, my leg snagged on the saddle bag and I almost strained my leg.  The same could happen when you loop out, or any other time that a quick exit off the back of the bike is necessary. On my Husaberg, I was able to mount a Tool Tube on the inside of my left side panel.  This allowed me to store my seldom used tools in the tube, and reduce the bulk in the fender bag.  But this option wont’ fit on the newer KTMs.

Tool Tube

I have hunted around for something would fit in the narrow space on the KTM, without success.

KTM left rear side plastic

I then stumbled on a tool pouch made by OBR ADV Gear out of Boise, Idaho.  The standard tool pouch was too large, but the owner, Mike, agreed to make me a custom bag that was 4″ tall and 12″ long.  He also made it with snaps rather than zippers, since the bag would be covered in mud, water, and dirt much of the time.

Custom tool pouch

Now to mount the tool pouch.  I first used some footman loops on the inside of the fender, with two 1″ cam straps to attach the bag.  I then used a heated utility blade to cut the straps to length.

Mounted tool pouch

The problem with this arrangement was that my tire would sometimes hit the buckles on the straps, and the buckles would get packed full of mud, making them difficult to open.

Mud encrusted cam straps

So I removed the footman loops and cut slots in the fender so I could place the buckles on the outside.  This arrangement works much better.  I would also be possible to use lower profile straps, but I already had the cam straps.

New mounting system

I placed my seldom used tools in this pouch, inside a heavy duty ziplock bag.  I keep my frequently accessed tools in the rear fender bag because it is easier to access.  But this side bag reduced the weight on the rear fender and the height of the fender bag, making it easier to swing my leg over.

Tire tools and spare plug

Update: On a recent moto-camping ride my tool pouch got shredded by new rear tire.  I think my saddlebags bouncing around caused the pouch to snag the knobs, tearing the corner off the pouch.  Luckily I didn’t loose any tools.

Arapeen Jul2016-030

Tool pouch damaged by rear tire

I also picked up a Silky Big Boy 2000 saw for use on multi-day adventure rides.  For this, I needed a larger tool pouch.  Again, OBR ADV Gear came to my rescue and built a longer version of their tool bag.

Saw Pouch

Standard tool bag on top, extended bag on bottom

Both bags have lash tabs on the back, so it is fairly easy to strap it onto your bike luggage.

OBR ADV Gear also makes a nice front fender bag that snaps to the fender, but it doesn’t work well with the newer style KTM fender.

OBR ADV Gear front fender bag

Dirt-Bike-Gear makes a different style front fender bag that should work out well.  Rather than mount to the fender, it mounts to the forks.  This is much more secure and it keeps the weight closer to the axis of rotation, so it shouldn’t affect handling as much as a standard bag.

Dirt-Bike-Gear front fender bag

This bag contains an 18″ and a 21″ TuBliss high-pressure tube and a tow strap.

About gardinerfamilyadventures

A really great family!
This entry was posted in Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Tool Pouch For KTM – Mar 2015

  1. Pingback: 2 Liter Bottle Holster | Gardiner Family Adventures

  2. carlos says:

    Hi, Curious to know how your front fender bag held up with both tubes and tow strap? Thanks!!

    • The Dirt-Bike-Gear front fender bag works great. Keep in mind that I am carrying spare Tubliss high pressure tubes – not dirt bike tubes. I think you can fit a 21″ dirt bike tube in the bag okay, but not a front and rear – they are too bulky.

  3. carlos says:

    Great thanks!

  4. Hi love the blog. Tried an Fe450, and loved it. But chose a 390 as it feels so much lighter when riding it. I really like your tool tube set up on your 450. Did you take any pics of the mounting process? Any tips. Thanks a bunch.
    Paul

  5. Ron Rudokas says:

    Nice job, very impressive. Still lower profile are some of the plastic buckles used on backpacks. They are not as secure so you may need to tie a half hitch over the buckle but they are lighter and thinner. I use them on my bike.
    Question Ever since I have started to use quality tires and tubes (as well as checking tire condition and pressure) I have never had a flat, over 10 years. Same goes for my main riding buddy. We don’t carry tire repair tools any longer (OK, tires have rim locks, and we have a bunch of tie wraps and could ride many miles on a flat if needed.). What is your experience? How ofter do you or your buddies get flats?
    Thanx Ron

    • I used cam straps because I have a bunch of them for our family river trips. I considered switching to an orange Voile strap, but feared the buckle would wear a hole in my adventure luggage. I haven’t yet considered backpack straps. I will take a look.

      I seldom get a flat tire. I no longer carry all of my tools on day rides – I carry a nice Tugger tow strap. I figure it should be too hard to get back to the truck on a day ride. But for multi-day adventure rides I carry a lot of tools. I use the tools to help others much more often than I need them myself.

      I think I have had four flats over the years. The first two where tube failures that ruptured. I then switched to Tubliss so I could run low pressure. But once I started doing dual-sport riding, I quit using really low pressure, so tubes would now work fine for me. My next two flats both happened last year on a six day adventure ride. On day two I had a Tubliss high pressure tube fail at the valve. I had to buy a tube off one of my buddies and ride the rest of the week without a rim lock. And then I hit a nail on the pavement about 100 yards from the truck at the end of the trip. That one scared me – I was going about 55 mph with heavy traffic when my rear tire started sliding out from under me. Luckily I managed to maintain control and get off the road and pull my heart out of my throat.

      • Ron Rudokas says:

        Thanx for your quick reply. Looks like we are both in the same place re flat, tools and what to take on a day trip. Good save on your high speed flat.
        We do white water kayaking and rafting along the west coast. Cam straps are hard to beat. Just wish there was more water available to use them more often.

  6. Bob says:

    what brand spark plug wrench is shown in you pictures?

Leave a Reply

