Wolfman Daytripper Saddle Bags – Oct 2014

For many years I have carried my dirt bike tools in Wolfman Enduro tail bags.

Wolfman Enduro Tail bags

The bags are well made, they have compression straps to keep your gear from thrashing around while riding, and the bag is removable so you can keep your tools safe while not in use.

The bag comes with a mounting plate that you bolt to your fender.  This plate uses hook & loop to attach the bag, and it has two compression straps to hold things tight.

Mounting plate

The bag measures 8″ long, 5-1/2″ wide, and up to 4″ tall.  It will hold up to 3.5 liters of gear.  It has heavy duty zippers around three sides, making it easy to access your gear.

Side view

Top view

I decided to try the Wolfman Daytripper bag for two reasons;

1) If I put all of my tools in the bag, it is so tall that I have a difficult time swinging my leg over the fender.

2) I wanted to reduce the weight of the gear I carry in my riding vest.

I like to be prepared for most emergencies when I ride.  I like to carry a fairly complete tool kit and a substantial first aid kit – including a SAM splint (which I have used).  I normally carry all of the first aid supplies and some of the tools in my Ogio Flight Vest, along with my two-way radio, lunch, water, a hat, and sometimes a jacket.  This makes the vest very heavy.

I find that on long rides my shoulders are usually the first thing to show signs of fatigue – so I want to reduce the weight that I am carrying on my body.

I have previously used the Wolfman E-12 saddle bags and found that they worked very well.  But they are larger than I want for most day rides.  So I decided to try the Daytripper bag, which mounts the same way as the E-12 bags, but at about half the thickness.

Wolfman Daytripper saddle bag

The bags hold up to 12 liters – 6 liters in each side.  The bag has several D-rings, which allow you to mount other bags, water bottles, or jackets to the bag.  They also have a compression strap on each side to keep your gear from bouncing around.

Top view

Most people run the main straps over the top of the seat, making the bags very easy to install or remove.  I decided to run the straps under the seat so the bags would sit lower and reduce the likelihood of theft.

The main straps support most of the weight while the rear straps and front straps keep the bag from bouncing around.

I was able to fit all of my tools in one side (except for a spare tube) and my first aid supplies in the other side and still have a little room to spare.

I think these bags are going to work out really well.

Field Testing: For the most part these bags work great.  I only have two concerns; 1) because they hold so much stuff, I carry a lot of stuff and the weight adds up – it does make the bike slightly less nimble, and 2) if you have to slide off the back of the bike (when looping out, or when you snag your foot on a tree root, etc.) your leg may snag on the bag, making it more likely that you will not land on your feet.

Update: These photos show an exhaust shield.  I found that I didn’t need it.  The bags stay in place very well, so I removed the shield.

Update 2: OBR ADV Gear offers a similar bag called the Enduro Saddlebag.  I think it is worth considering.

Update 3: Mike, from OBR ADV Gear made a 4″x12″ custom tool pouch that I mounted to the inside of my left rear side plastic.  I placed my seldom used tools in this pouch, and my frequently used tools in the Wolfman Enduro rear fender bag.  I returned my first-aid kit to my vest.  This avoids the safety hazard of the Daytripper bag, but I can easily through it back on when I need to carry a little extra gear.

About gardinerfamilyadventures

A really great family!
This entry was posted in Technology and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wolfman Daytripper Saddle Bags – Oct 2014

  1. Pingback: Adventure Bike Luggage for Small Bikes – Sept 2014 | Gardiner Family Adventures

  2. Pingback: Tool Pouch For KTM – Mar 2015 | Gardiner Family Adventures

Leave a Reply

